2023 NJLA Honors and Award Winners

LIBRARIAN OF THE YEAR

Martha Hickson, North Hunterdon High School

Library Champions

Sharon Karmazin - Karma Foundation Scholarship Support

Senator Michael Testa Senator Shirley Turner Assemblyman Daniel Benson Assemblywoman Mila Jasey Assemblywoman Pamela Lampitt Sponsors of Bill #S588: Information Literacy

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Award

Ellen Sladovich - Fort Lee Public Library

Public Relations Information Literature

Millburn Free Public Library - Back to School with Millburn Library Resource Guide

Public Relations Campaign

Somerset County Library System of New Jersey - Sort-o-Matic Caldwell Public Library - Turning the Page: A New Chapter for the Caldwell Public Library

Public Relations Surprise Us!

East Brunswick Public Library - Librarians and Dragons

Rising Stars- Professional

Melaina Squicciarini, Highland Park Public Library Olivia Bruno, Cape May County Library

Library Service Award: Individual

Courtney Reinfried, Northern Valley Regional High School

Library Service Award: Group

Friends of the Summit Free Public Library

Library Service Award: Trustees

Carol Harpster - Glen Ridge Public Library

Innovative Program Awards

Cherry Hill Public Library - Crafting for a Cause Camden County Library - Personal Care Pantries Boonton Holmes Public Library - Boonton : Building History

NJLA/NJASL Amy Job Partnership Award

Catherine Eng, Paramus Public Library

NJLA CUS/ACRL-NJ Technology Innovation

Joyce DeStasio - Stockton University Maya Gervits, Monica Kenzie, and Hyejin Hannah Kum-Biocca - NJIT

NJLA CUS/ACRL-NJ Technical Services Award

Mei Ling Joyce Chow - Montclair State University

NJLA CUS/ACRL-NJ Research Award

Joyce Valenza, Heather Dalal, Gihan Mohamad, Brenda Boyer, Cara Berg, Leslin H. Charles, Rebecca Bushby, Megan Dempsey, Joan Dalrymple, Ewa Dziedzic-Elliott - "First Years' Information Literacy Backpacks: What's Already Packed or Not Packed?"

NJLA CUS/ACRL-NJ Distinguished Service Award

Kate Skrebutenas - Princeton Theological Seminary

Intellectual Freedom Award

Donna Pancari and Kevin Parker, Washington Township High School

Susan G. Swartzburg Preservation Award

Lois Densky-Wolff

NJLA PRESIDENT'S AWARD

Dr. Betty J. Turock